Accessories Bicycles Parts Specials Tools

Search sheldonbrown.com and sheldonbrown.org

Bremsen und Abbiegen
Sheldon Brown photo
by Sheldon "Vorderradbremse" Brown
Spoke Divider

Bremsen--vorne, hinten oder beide?

Nachdem ihr Fahrrad zwei Bremsen hat, eine für jede Hand, müssen Sie besonders darauf achten, wie Sie jede von beiden benutzen, um so sicher wie möglich stehenzubleiben.

Gesunder Menschenverstand

Der gesunde Menschenverstand rät einem, beide Bremsen gleichzeitig zu verwenden. Dies ist möglicherweise ein guter Ratschlag für Anfänger, die noch nicht gelernt haben, ihre Bremsen geschickt einzusetzen, aber wenn Sie diese Stufe nicht überschreiten, werden Sie nie in der Lage sein, so schnell und sicher zu bremsen, wie ein Fahrradfahrer, der gelernt hat, die Vorderradbremse alleine einzusetzen.

Maximale Geschwindigkeitsverminderung--Notbremsungen

Die schnellste Möglichkeit, ein konventionelles Fahrrad abzubremsen, besteht darin, die Vorderradbremse so stark zu betätigen, dass das Hinterrad gerade vom Boden abhebt. In dieser Situation kann das Hinterrad nicht zum Bremsvorgang beitragen, da es keinen Bodenkontakt mehr hat.

Werde ich nicht über den Lenker stürzen?

Die Hinterradbremse ist ausreichend für Situtionen, in denen die Bodenhaftung schlecht ist, oder wenn der Vorderreifen platzt oder "platt" ist. Beim Bremsen auf trockenem Boden liefert die Vorderradbremse aber die maximale Bremskraft, sowohl in der Theorie wie auch in der Praxis.

Wenn Sie sich die Zeit nehmen, die Vorderradbremse richtig einzusetzen, werden Sie ein sicherer Fahrer sein.

Viele Fahrradfahrer scheuen sich, die Vorderradbremse zu benutzen, in der Angst, dabei über den Lenker zu stürzen. So etwas passiert, aber meistens Leuten, die nicht gelernt haben, die Vorderradbremse richtig zu dosieren.

Ein Fahrradfahrer, der sich beim Bremsen allgemein auf die Hinterradbremse verlässt, kann in eine Notsituation geraten und greift in seiner Panik nach der ungewohnten Vorderradbremse für zusätzliche Bremskraft. Dies kann die klassischen "Über den Lenker stürzen"-Unfälle verursachen.

Jobst Brandt hat eine sehr pausible Theorie, dass die typischen "Über den Lenker"-Unfälle nicht so sehr durch das zu starke Abbremsen verursacht werden, sondern viel mehr durch starkes Bremsen, ohne gleichzeitiges Abstützen mit den Armen: Das Fahrrad bleibt stehen, die Schenkel des Fahrers bewegen sich nach vorne, bis sie gegen den Lenker stossen, und das Fahrrad, das nicht mehr länger das Gewicht des Fahrers trägt, kippt nach vorne.

Dies kann nicht passieren, wenn Sie nur die Hinterradbremse verwenden, denn sobald das Hinterrad abhebt, gibt es keine Bremswirkung mehr, die dadurch verursacht wurde. Unglücklicherweise braucht es aber mehr als doppelt so lange, nur mit der Hinterradbremse alleine zum Stehen zu kommen, weshalb es für jeden Fahrradfahrer zu unsicher ist, der schneller fährt. Es ist wichtig, dass Sie ihre Arme einsetzen, um sich selbst während einer starken Bremsung abzustützen, um Lenkerstürze zu vermeiden. In der Tat ist es eine gute Technik, sich auf dem Sattel soweit wie möglich nach hinten zu bewegen, um den Schwerpunkt möglichst weit nach hinten zu verlagern. Dies gilt sowohl für die Verwendung der Vorderradbremse, der Hinterradbremse oder beiden gleichzeitig. Die gleichzeitige Verwendung beider Bremsen kann ein "Schlingern" bewirken. Wenn das Hinterrad rutscht, während gleichzeitig vorne gebremst wird, neigt das Hinterrad dazu, nach vorne zu schwingen, da das vordere Laufrad eine stärkere Verzögerung ausübt, als das hintere. Sobald das Hinterrad zu rutschen beginnt, kann es sich genauso leicht zur Seite bewegen, wie vorwärts.

Wenn Sie mir nicht glauben, kann Sie vielleicht John Forester überzeugen...sehen Sie sich seinen Eintrag in der rec.bicycles FAQ über die Verwendung der Vorderradbremse an. Unglücklicherweise hat der Betreiber dieser Site die Angewohnheit, Links häufig zu ändern, weshalb Sie evtl. im Index der rec.bycicles FAQ nachsehen müssen, um den Artikel zu finden.

Spoke Divider

Spoke Divider

Lernen, die Vorderradbremse zu verwenden

Die maximale Bremskraft entsteht, wenn die Vorderradbremse so stark betätigt wird, dass das Hinterrad gerade vom Boden abhebt. Wenn dies passiert, wird eine schwache Betätigung der hinteren Bremse dazu führen, dass das Hinterrad rutscht.

Wenn Sie ein konventionelles Fahrrad fahren, ist der beste Weg zum Erlernen der Beherrschung der Vorderradbremse, auf einem Parkplatz oder einem anderen sicheren Platz mit beiden Bremsen zu üben, aber die meiste Kraft in die Vorderradbremse zu geben. Pedalieren Sie, während Sie bremsen, so dass ihre Beine ihnen unmittelbar zeigen, wann das Hinterrad zu rutschen beginnt. Üben Sie zunehmend stärkere Bremsvorgänge, bis dies beginnt, so dass sie das Gefühl einer starken Bremsung, bei der das Hinterrad fast abhebt, kennenlernen.

Eingie Fahrradfahrer bevorzugen es, ein Fahrrad ohne Freilauf, ein "Fixed Gear", zu fahren. Wenn man auf einem "Fixed Gear" vorne stark abbremst, gibt einem der Kettenantrieb eine hervorragende Rückmeldung über die Traktion des Hinterrads. (Dies ist einer der Gründe, weshalb "Fixed Gear"-Fahrräder für Fahrten im Winter bevorzugt werden.)

Wenn man auf einem "Fixed Gear" nur vorne bremst, zeigen einem die Beine exakt, wann man die maximal mögliche Bremswirkung der Vorderradbremse erreicht. Sobald man das auf einem "Fixed Gear" gelernt hat, wird man in der Lage sein, jedes Fahrrad besser abzubremsen, indem man nur die Vorderradbremse benutzt.

Wenn Sie das Konzept eines "Fixed Gear"-Fahrrads faszinierend finden, es gibt von mir einen Artikel über "Fixed Gear"-Fahrräder für die Benutzung auf Strassen und auch eine Seite mit Erfahrungsberichten über "Fixed Gear"-Fahrräder von glücklich "Bekehrten".

Verwenden der Hinterradbremse

Geschickte Fahrradfahrer verwenden die Vorderradbremse alleine etwa zu 95%, aber es gibt Situationen, in denen die Hinterradbremse bevorzugt werden sollte:

Spoke Divider

Spoke Divider

Welche Bremse auf welcher Seite?

Es gibt eine bemerkenswerte Uneinigkeit darüber, welche Bremse mit welchem Hebel verbunden werden soll: Es lassen aber auch nationale Trends beobachten: Die Theorie, die für mich an wahrscheinlichsten ist, ist dass diese nationalen Standards aus dem Problem entstanden sind, dass ein Fahrradfahrer in der Lage sein muss Handzeichen zu geben und dabei gleichzeitig die Hauptbremse erreichen soll. Diese logische Idee beruht unglücklicherweise auf der Annahme, dass die Hinterradbremse die Hauptbremse ist.

Aus diesem Grund montiere ich meine eigenen Fahrräder so, dass man mit der rechten Hand die Vorderradbremse betätigt, was aber nicht die Norm in den U.S.A. ist.

Ich verfahre auch so, weil ich Rechtshänder bin und mit meiner geschickteren Hand die kritischere Bremse bedienen will. Siehe dazu auch meinen Brief an das Bike Culture Magazin.

Herauslehnen beim Abbiegen

Um mit einem Fahrrad abzubiegen, muss man sich in die Richtung, in die man abbiegen will, herauslehnen. Je schneller man fährt und je enger die Kurve ist, desto stärker muss man sich in die Schräglage begeben. Man hat keine Wahl, bei einer bestimmten Geschwindigkeit und einem bestimmten Kurvenradius muss der Schwerpunkt von Fahrrad/Fahrer zu einem gewissen Grad zur Seite verlagert werden oder das Fahrrad ist nicht im Gleichgewicht.

Worüber man Kontrolle hat, ist ob man das Fahrrad mehr, weniger oder gleich stark schräg stellt, wie den eigenen Körper, um den Schwerpunkt so weit zu verlagern, wie nötig.

Spoke Divider

Spoke Divider

Ein Brief an Bike Culture:

Das folgende ist ein Brief, den ich 1995 an das Bike Culture Magazin geschrieben habe, um einige der oben behandelten Punkte anzusprechen:

In Bike Culture #6, setzt Marek Utkin "unsinnige Standards" der Fahrradindustrie herab. Er fängt mit wundervollen Beschuldigungen an, "im Verlauf der Geschichte haben Despoten versucht, jeden Aspekt ihrer Gesellschaft zu regulieren...". Er fährt fort damit, Hitler mit der D.I.N. in Verbindung zu bringen und Stalin mit G.O.S.T. Unverständlicherweise vergisst er die starke Verbindung zwischen Napoleon und dem metrischen System zu erwähnen--eventuell mag er das metrische System und möchte nicht seine despotische Vorgeschichte zum Vorschein bringen.

Er erregt sich besonders über neue EU-Richtlinien, die festlegen, dass die Vorderradbremse mit der rechten Hand betätigt werden soll. "Die Probleme fangen an, wenn ein Fahrrad mit der Vorderradbremse auf der rechten Seite gefahren wird...in jedem Land, wo der Verkehr rechts fährt. Das Handzeichen zum Abbiegen nach links, über den Verkehr, ist viel gefährlicher als das Zeichen zum Abbiegen nach rechts. Mit der rechten Hand...nimmt das Gefahrenpotential durch die Vorderradbremse zu. Vorne abzubremsen, wenn man nur eine Hand am Lenker hat, kann zu einem instabilen Vorderrad führen. Darüber hinaus bewegt sich der Oberkörper des Fahrers nach vorne, wenn das Fahrrad abrupt abgebremst wird, was zu einem zusätzlichen Druck auf den rechten Teil des Lenker führt."

Ich muß seine Haltung einem allgemeinen Mißverständnis über Bremsen zuschreiben. Bei Fahrrädern, wie nahezu bei allen Fahrzeugen mit Rädern, ist die Vorderradbremse die wichtigere und effektive Bremse. Die Vorderradbremse alleine kann ein Fahrrad doppelt so schnell zum Stehen bringen, wie die Hinterradbremse alleine, mit Ausnahme auf sehr rutschigen Oberflächen.

Unlücklicherweise haben viele Gelegenheitsfahrer und Nicht-Fahrradfahrer die falsche Vorstellung, dass die Verwendung der Vorderradbremse gefährlich ist und dass man leicht das Vorderrad blockiert, über den Lenker stürzt und sich den Schädel bricht. Diese Art von Unfällen ist extrem selten und sehr unwahrscheinlich auf einem gut gewarteten Fahrrad, dass von einem Fahrer benutzt wird, der gelernt hat, die Vorderradbremse gefühlvoll einzusetzen.

Die Gefahr besteht eher bei Fahrrädern mit beschädigten Felgen oder falsch eingestellten Bremsen. Die Gefahr ist noch grösser bei Fahrern, die sich aus Gewohnheit nur auf die Hinterradbremse verlassen und plötzlich mit einer Notbremsung konfrontiert werden. Ein Fahrer in Panik, der keine Erfahrung mit der Vorderradbremse hat, betätigt diese im Notfall als letzte Rettung mit voller Kraft und wird möglicherweise einen Sturz erleiden.

Wenn Sie mir die Analogie zu Autos in diesen grünen Seiten vergeben, ein Fahrer, der nie einen Wagen mit kräftigen Bremsen gefahren hat, wird Anfangs einige Male damit in's Rutschen geraten, wenn er ein Auto fährt, dass entsprechend ausgerüstet ist. Das bedeutet aber nicht, dass etwas mit den kräftigen Bremsen nicht stimmt, sondern es bedeutet viel mehr, dass der Fahrer lernen muss, sie richtig einzusetzen.

Ich fahre regelmässig ein "Fixed Gear"-Fahrrad nur mit einer Vorderradbremse. Das ist ein hervorragender Weg, die feine Steuerung der Vorderradbremse zu lernen, da man durch den fehlenden Freilauf eine sehr gute Rückmeldung über die verbleibende Traktion am Hinterrad bekommt.

In den frühen 80ern wurde ich davon angesteckt, mit dem Mountain Bike in den Wäldern zu fahren und habe meinen Bremsstil komplett angepasst, um mit den unebenen Waldwegen zurechtzukommen.

1988 bin ich für ein Jahr nach Frankreich umgezogen und wieder zum Fahren auf Strassen zurückgekehrt. In der Nähe meines Hauses gab es ein wundervolles Stück Strasse in Richtung des Tals, die La Route des Sept Tournants genannt wurde. Es ist eine Reihe von wechselnden Serpentinen, wundervoll asphaltiert, sehr gut gebaut. Ich habe dort regelmässig auf einer meiner bevorzugten Runden Abfahrten gemacht. Das Problem war, ich konnte nie wirklich schnell fahren, da ich immer das Gefühl hatte, die Traktion am Hinterrad zu verlieren und aus den Kurven zu fliegen. Nach einigem Monaten bin ich zu dem Schluss gekommen, dass ich ängstlich wurde, nachdem ich ein mittleres Alter erreicht hatte. I erinnerte mich daran, dass ich früher ähnliche Kurven auf meinem alten "Fixed Gear" ohne Hinterradbremse gefahren bin--Moment, vielleicht ist es genau das! Das nächste Mal, als ich diese Strecke fuhr, beschloss ich, meine nicht Hinterradbremse zu benutzen, solange ich nicht das Gefühl hatte, sie wirklich zu brauchen--Ich würde langsam beginnen, nur so schnell, wie ich mich mit der Vorderradbremse alleine sicher fühlte.

Spoke Divider

Spoke Divider

Mirable dictu, ich bemerkte, dass ich wieder mein altes Selbst war! Es war in der Tat so, dass das Hinterrad immer kurz vor dem Abrutschen war, und das nur, weil ich die hintere Bremse benutzt hatte. Ohne die Wirkung der Hinterradbremse, gab es keine Gefahr mehr, dass das Hinterrad rutschen würde. Das Vorderrad hatte dank der Gewichtsverlagerung beim Einsetzen der vorderen Bremse, die ich immer noch benutzen musste, ebenso viel Traktion.

Viele Leute werden einem erzählen, dass es gefährlich ist, die Vorderradbremse in einer Kurve zu benutzen; Ich würde antworten, dass dies der Fall ist, wenn die eigene Technik zum Bremsen/Abbiegen nicht korrekt ist. Der Schwerpunkt von Fahrer/Fahrrad muss in einer Kurve verlagert werden. Es gibt drei Wege, dies zu tun. Ein Weg ist es, das Fahrrad mehr oder weniger aufrecht zu halten, aber den Körper in die Kurve zu lehnen. Ein anderer ist es, den Körper mehr oder weniger aufrecht zu halten und das Fahrrad unter sich schräg zu stellen. Die dritte und normalerweise korrekte Technik ist es, den eigenen Körper und den Rahmen des Fahrrads in einer Linie zu halten und Fahrrad und Fahrer als Einheit in die Kurve zu lehnen.

Fahrrad und Fahrer unterschiedlich stark schräg zu stellen verschlechert die Fahreigenschaften des Fahrrads, da der Schwerpunkt zur Ebene der Räder seitlich verlagert wird. Wird die Vorderradbremse währenddessen betätigt, bewirkt die Bremskraft gleichzeitig eine Richtungsänderung durch den nicht mehr mittig liegenden Steuersatz. Jobst Brand hat einen hervorragenden Weg, wie man sich selbst davon überzeugen kann: versuchen Sie eine gerade, aber unebene Strasse zu befahren, während Sie das Fahrrad auf eine Seite lehnen, und ihren Körper auf die andere. Wenn sie mutig sind, versuchen Sie die Vorderradbremse sehr leicht zu betätigen.

Ich muss ein wenig zum Widerspruch sagen, ob Regierungsstellen den Menschen sagen sollten, wie sie ihr Fahrrad montieren. In den U.S.A., hat die De-Fakto-Regelung durch die Regierung dazu geführt, dass alle neu verkauften Fährrader obligatorisch die Vorderradbremse auf der linken Seite haben. Ich bin stark dagegen. Als Ergebnis davon hatte ich einen Beinahe-Unfall: Ich war mit einem ungewohnten Fahrrad unterwegs, dass die Vorderradbremse links hatte, obwohl ich es andersherum gewohnt bin. An einer Kreuzung wurde ich von einem Auto geschnitten und ich habe instiktiv mit der rechten Hand zugegriffen. Nachdem dies die Hinterradbremse war, konnte ich kaum rechtzeitig bremsen!

Ich werde einen weiteren Grund anführen, weshalb die Vorderradbremse rechts liegen sollte: Die meisten Menschen sind Rechtshänder. Ich denke, wir können alle zustimmen, dass die Vorderradbremse mehr Geschicklichkeit erfordert, als die Hinterradbremse; daher sollte sie der geschickteren Hand zugewiesen werden.

Spoke Divider

DESCRIPTION

Übersetzung von Arno Welzel

Spoke Divider

Spoke Divider

Articles by Sheldon Brown and others
Harris
Home
Beginners Brakes Commuting
Lights
Cycle-
Computers
Do-It-
Yourself
Essays
Family
Cycling
Fixed Gear
Singlespeed
Frames Gears &
Drivetrain
Bicycle
Humor
Bicycle
Glossary
Bicycle
Links
Old
Bikes
Repair
Tips
Tandems Touring What's
New
Wheels Sheldon
Brown

Accessories Bicycles Parts Specials Tools

Copyright © 1995, 2006 Sheldon Brown
German version May 7, 2004

Harris Cyclery Home Page

If you would like to make a link or bookmark to this page, the URL is:
http://sheldonbrown.com/german/brakturn.html
Last Updated: by Author

Accessories Bicycles Parts Specials Tools

Search sheldonbrown.com and sheldonbrown.org

Braking and Turning Your Bicycle
Translations of this article: German German flag
Russian Russian flag

find us on FB

Sheldon Brown photo
by Sheldon "Front Brake" Brown
revisions by John "One Good Turn..." Allen
Spoke Divider

Braking--Front, Rear or Both?

Since your bike has two brakes, one for each hand, if you want to stop as safely as possible, you need to pay attention to how you use each of them.

Conventional Wisdom

Conventional wisdom says to use both brakes at the same time. This is probably good advice for beginners, who have not yet learned to use their brakes skillfully, but if you don't graduate past this stage, you will never be able to stop as short safely as a cyclist who has learned to use the front brake by itself.

Maximum Deceleration--Emergency Stops

The fastest that you can stop any bike of normal wheelbase is to apply the front brake so hard that the rear wheel is just about to lift off the ground. In this situation, the rear wheel cannot contribute to stopping power, since it has no traction.

Won't I Go Over The Bars?

The rear brake is O.K. for situations where traction is poor, or for when your front tire blows, but for stopping on dry pavement, the front brake alone provides the maximum stopping power, both in theory and in practice.

If you take the time to learn to use the front brake correctly, you will be a safer cyclist.

Many cyclists shy away from using the front brake, due to fear of flying over the handlebars. This does happen, but mainly to people who have not learned to modulate the front brake.

The cyclist who relies on the rear brake for general stopping can get by until an emergency arises, and, in a panic, he or she grabs the unfamiliar front brake as well as the rear, for extra stopping power. This can cause the classic "over the bars" crash.

Jobst Brandt has a quite plausible theory that the typical "over-the-bars" crash is caused, not so much by braking too hard, but by braking hard without using the rider's arms to brace against the deceleration: The bike stops, the rider keeps going until the rider's thighs bump into the handlebars, and the bike, which is no longer supporting the weight of the rider, flips.

This cannot happen when you are using only the rear brake, because as soon as the rear wheel starts to lift, the rear wheel skids, limiting its braking force. Unfortunately, though, it takes twice as long to stop with the rear brake alone as with the front brake alone, so reliance on the rear brake is unsafe for cyclists who ever go fast. It is important to use your arms to brace yourself securely during hard braking, to prevent this. Indeed, good technique involves moving back on your saddle as far as you can comfortably go, to keep the center of gravity as far back as possible. This applies whether you are using the front, rear or both brakes. Using both brakes together can cause "fishtailing." If the rear wheel skids while braking force is also being applied to the front, the rear of the bike will tend to swing past the front, since the front is applying a greater decelerating force than the rear. Once the rear tire starts to skid, it can move sideways as easily as forward.

If you don't believe me, perhaps John Forester can convince you...see his Entry in the rec.bicycles FAQ on Front Brake Usage (Subject: 9.17). (Unfortunately, the maintainer of that site has a habit of breaking links, so you may need to go to the rec.bicycles FAQ index to find the article.) Or read John Allen's advice.

Skidding the rear wheel also wears the rear tire very quickly. A single rear-brake-only stop from 50 km/h (30 mph) with a locked rear wheel can wear the tread of a road tire right down to the fabric!

Spoke Divider

Spoke Divider

Learning to Use The Front Brake

Maximum braking occurs when the front brake is applied so hard that the rear wheel is just about to lift off. At that point, the slightest amount of rear brake will cause the rear wheel to skid.

If you ride a conventional bike, the best way to master the use of your front brake is to practice in a parking lot or other safe space, applying both brakes at once, but putting most of the effort into the front brake. Keep pedaling as you brake, so that your legs will tell you immediately when the rear wheel starts to skid. Squeeze, don't grab, the brake levers, so you can sense when this happens. Practice harder and harder stops, so that you will learn the feel of stopping fast, on the edge of rear-wheel liftoff.

Test the brakes in this way whenever you are about to ride an unfamiliar bike. Some brakes are more sensitive than others, and you need to know the "feel" of the brakes.

Once you are comfortable with the front brake, also practice releasing the brakes to recover control, until this is an automatic, reflex action. At a very low speed, apply the brakes hard enough that the rear wheel skids, or just begins to lift. When it does, immediately release the brakes. Wear your helmet.

Some cyclists like to ride a fixed-gear bicycle, that is, a bicycle that does not permit coasting. When you brake hard with the front brake on a fixed gear, the drivetrain gives you excellent feedback about the traction at the rear wheel. (This is one of the reasons that fixed gears are favored for winter riding.)

If you ride a fixed gear with only a front brake, your legs will tell you exactly when you are at the maximum brake capacity of the front brake. Once your fixed gear has taught you this, you will be able to stop any bicycle better, using the front brake alone.

If you find the fixed-gear concept intriguing, I have a major article on Fixed Gears for Road Use on this site, and also a page of Fixed-Gear Testimonials from happy converts.

When to Use The Rear Brake

Skilled cyclists use the front brake alone probably 95% of the time, but there are instances when the rear brake is preferred:

Spoke Divider

Spoke Divider

When to Use Both Brakes Together

Generally I advise against using both brakes at the same time. There are exceptions, however:

Which Brake Which Side?

There is considerable disagreement as to which brake should be connected to which lever: There are also observable national trends: The theory that seems most probable to me is that the national standards arose from a concern that the cyclist be able to make hand signals, and still be able to reach the primary brake. This logical idea is, unfortunately, accompanied by the incorrect premise that the rear brake is the primary brake.

For this reason, I set my own bikes up so that the right hand controls the front brake, which is not the norm in the U.S.

I also do this because I'm right-handed, and wish to have my more skillful hand operate the more critical brake.

On the other hand, if you have already developed a preference, it is usually best to stick with it -- or at least, choose a few weeks of riding under undemanding conditions to retrain your reflexes. In an emergency, you must act faster than you can think. If you switch between a Mac and a Windows PC, where the same keys don't make the same characters, or between a clarinet and a saxophone where they don't make the same musical notes, you know how reflexes can trip you up. If you are used to skidding the rear wheel with the rear brake, switching the brake cables can result a flight over the handlebars. If you mostly use the front brake, switching the cables can result in rear-wheel skidding and increased stopping distance. These problems are most likely when first riding an unfamiliar bike, so, again, always test the brakes with a light brake application when you first start out.

 

See also my letter to Bike Culture magazine.

Spoke Divider

Spoke Divider

Leaning in Turns

To turn a bicycle, you must lean inward toward the direction of the turn. The faster you are going, and the sharper the turn, the more you must lean. You have no choice about this, for a given speed and turn radius, the center of gravity of the bike/rider must be moved sideways a particular amount or the bicycle will not balance.

What you do have control over is whether you lean the bicycle more than, less than, or the same amount that you lean your body, to get the overall center of gravity to the place that it has to go.

[I think there might be something to this. If you start to skid out, you might be able to yank the bicycle up and momentarily press the wheels harder into the road surface to gain more traction -- though the side force also might potato-chip a wheel, or roll a tubular off the rim.

Racers also sometimes drop the knee that is to the inside of the turn. Yanking the knee inward may also help ro recover from a skid.

Also see Jobst Brandt's comments, below -- John Allen.]

[Neither do I -- but, as Sheldon says, this may be necessary to avoid a pedal strike with a fixed-gear bicycle -- John Allen.]

Spoke Divider

Spoke Divider

A letter to Bike Culture:

The following is a letter I wrote to Bike Culture magazine in 1995, addressing some of the points covered above:

In Bike Culture #6, Marek Utkin decries "Stupid Standards" in the bicycle industry. He begins with a wonderful exercise in guilt by association "Throughout history, despots have tried to regulate every aspect of their society..." He goes on to link Hitler to the D.I.N. and Stalin to G.O.S.T. standards. Unaccountably, he forgets to mention the strong linkage between Napoleon and the Metric system--perhaps he likes metrics, and doesn't want to bring up its despotic antecedents.

He is specifically exercised by new E.U. regulations that specify that the front brake should be controlled by the right hand. "The trouble begins when a bike with right lever to front brake is ridden...in any country where traffic keeps to the right. The left hand signal, across traffic, is much more hazardous than the right hand signal. With the right hand...front brake the potential danger increases. Stopping the front wheel only, with one hand on the handlebars, can cause front-wheel instability. Also the upper part of the cyclist's body moves forward as the bicycle abruptly decelerates, causing further pressure on the right side of the handlebars."

I have to attribute his attitude to a common misunderstanding about brakes. With bicycles, as with virtually all wheeled vehicles, the front brake is the more important and effective brake. The front brake by itself will stop a standard bicycle twice as fast as a rear brake by itself. The front brake by itself will stop a standard bicycle as fast as both brakes used together, except on very slippery surfaces.

Unfortunately, many casual cyclists and non-cyclists have the mistaken idea that using the front brake is dangerous, and that you are likely to lock up the front wheel, pitch over the handlebars and crack you skull. This type of accident is extremely rare, and unlikely on a bicycle that is in good repair, ridden by a cyclist who has learned to use the front brake sensitively.

The danger is more real for bicycles with damaged rims, or mis-adjusted brakes. The danger is even greater for the cyclist who habitually relies on the rear brake alone when suddenly faced with the need for a panic stop. A panicky rider who is unused to the front brake may indeed grab it full-force as a last resort, and may take a header.

If you will forgive an automotive analogy in these green pages, a driver who has never driven a car with power brakes is likely to skid a few times the first time he or she tries driving a car that has them. This does not mean that there is something wrong with power brakes, however, it means that the driver needs to learn how to use them.

I frequently ride a fixed-gear bike with a front brake only. This is an excellent way to learn subtle control of the front brake, as the fixed gear gives very good feedback of the traction available at the rear wheel.

In the early '80s, I became infatuated with mountain bike riding in the woods, and completely re-adapted my braking style to cope with the loose surfaces common on woods trails.

In 1988, I moved to France for a year, and got back into road riding. Near my house was a wonderful bit of road down the side of a valley, called La Route des Sept Tournants. It is a series of sweeping switch backs, beautifully paved, very well engineered. I used to descend it regularly on one of my favorite loops. The problem was, I could never really go fast down it, I always felt that I was on the verge of losing traction with my rear wheel and spinning out. After a few months of this, I was beginning to conclude that I had just become a coward as I reached middle age. I remembered I used to go faster around similar bends on my old fixed gear with no rear brake----wait a minute, maybe that's it! The next time I went that way, I decided not to use my rear brake unless I felt I really needed it--I would just go slowly at first, only as fast as I felt comfortable with using the front brake alone.

Mirable dictu, I found that I was my old self again! It had indeed been the rear wheel that was on the verge of slipping, and only because I was using its brake. Without the drag of the rear brake, the rear wheel was in no danger of slipping. The front wheel, thanks to the weight shift caused by the braking I still had to use, had plenty of traction as well.

Many people will tell you that it is dangerous to use your front brake in a turn; I would respond that this is so if your turning/banking technique is incorrect. The center of gravity of a bicycle/rider must lean into a turn; this is required by the laws of physics. There are three ways you can do this. One way is to keep the bike more-or-less upright, but to lean your upper body into the turn. Another is to keep your body more-or-less upright, and lean the bicycle under you. The third, and usually correct technique is to keep your body in line with the bicycle frame, lean the bicycle and rider together as a unit.

Leaning the bicycle and rider differently messes up the handling of the bike, by moving the center of gravity sideways from the plane of the wheels. If you apply the front brake while doing this, the braking force exerts a steering force through the now off-center headset. Jobst Brandt has an excellent way of proving this to yourself: try riding down a straight, but bumpy stretch of road while leaning the bike to one side and your body to the other. If you are brave, try applying the front brake very gently.

I must admit to a bit of ambivalence as to whether a government body should tell people how to set up their bicycles. In the U.S.A., de-facto government regulation has made left-front all but compulsory for new bikes to be sold. I strongly object to this. I once had a near-accident as a result: I was riding an unfamiliar bike that was set up left-front, even though I am used to right-front. I came to an intersection, a car cut me off, I instinctively grabbed with my right hand. Since this was the rear brake, I was only barely able to stop in time!

I will add one further reason for preferring the right-front setup: Most people are right handed. I think we can all agree that the front brake requires more skill than the rear; therefore, it should be assigned to the more skillful hand.

Spoke Divider

Spoke Divider

Articles by Sheldon Brown and others
Harris
Home
Beginners Brakes Commuting
Lights
Cycle-
Computers
Do-It-
Yourself
Essays
Family
Cycling
Fixed Gear
Singlespeed
Frames Gears &
Drivetrain
Bicycle
Humor
Bicycle
Glossary
Bicycle
Links
Old
Bikes
Repair
Tips
Tandems Touring What's
New
Wheels Sheldon
Brown

Accessories Bicycles Parts Specials Tools

Copyright © 1997, 2008 Sheldon Brown

Harris Cyclery Home Page

If you would like to make a link or bookmark to this page, the URL is:
http://sheldonbrown.com/brakturn.html

Last Updated: by Harriet Fell